Countdown To Europe’s First Major Tournament In Europe In 2009!
By Staff
Gibraltar – 29th December 2008 -- The first major poker tournament of 2009, the €2,000 buy-in (9% withheld) Irish Poker Championship, takes place from January 2 to 5, 2009 at the Radisson SAS Hotel in Galway, Ireland. Coverage of the lively Galway main event will be televised on RTÉ and then distributed internationally. Organizers have recently confirmed that they have added another ‘main event,’ in the form of a singing contest. Simon Cowell will be quaking in his boots as the Devilfish, Jon ‘Skalie’ Kalmar and Kenna James take to the microphone!

A spokesman said: “The Radisson SAS Hotel on Galway Bay is soundproofed and ready to go – we’re just surprised that there is no sign of Marcel Luske yet. In all seriousness, however, this promises to be a fun spectacle. Skalie used to be the lead singer of a punk band, the Devilfish is well known for his excellence in tinkling the ivories, while Kenna James has recorded his own material and received great reviews. We suspect that no matter how good they are though that whoever steps up to sing the first Irish song is likely to get the best reception! The identity of the judging panel is currently a closely guarded secret.”

“One of the major problems of last year’s event has been completely ironed out after the near revolution in 2008. The staff at the Radisson SAS Hotel will not try and shut the bar too early on the night of the final table and have to have a change of heart!”

Last year’s IPC champion was Galway’s Jude Ainsworth, with the runner-up Mick McCool from Nottingham. In addition to the main event there are a number of good value side events and satellites taking place. See for more information. The craic and hospitality of the event is well known and a player party is being thrown on New Years Day at 6pm, where a full bar, food and entertainment is the order of the day. One man who will be at the New Year’s Day shindig is the Devilfish who said: “I haven’t missed a party in 20 years so I won’t be starting now.”

Amongst the latest confirmations for the Irish Poker Championship main event include Julian Gardner, Marc Goodwin and John Kabbaj. They join a top line-up that will include Ambassador of Poker’ Mike Sexton, Kenna James, Dave “Devilfish” Ulliott, Benjamin Kang, Surinder Sunar, Jon ‘Skalie’ Kalmar, Mad ‘Marty’ Wilson, Mickey Wernick, Alan Vinson and 2008 Irish Open champion Neil Channing. They join the Irish contingent that includes recent Poker Million winner Marty Smyth, Poker Million finalists Liam Flood and Ciaran O’Leary, Noel Furlong, Donnacha O’Dea, Padraig Parkinson, Scott Gray, Premier League II winner Andy Black, Dave Callaghan, Tony Cascarino, Rory Liffey and last year’s champion Jude Ainsworth. France will be represented by Claude Cohen and Veronique Gourdon, while Spain’s challenge is led by Leo Margets and Women’s World Open II star May Maceiras.

On Sunday 4th January at 9pm there will be a special charity event ‘Poker for the Homeless,’ where a percentage from each buy-in goes to worthy charities in Dublin and Galway.

The Irish Poker Championship is organized by, with the tournament coverage produced by Winmedia Ireland Ltd. Winmedia Ireland Ltd is an industry leader in producing this kind of tournament coverage and this year they have created a specially designed Irish pub set that will host the televised table and two feeder tables. Irish Poker Championship, Radisson SAS, Galway, Ireland – Main Event - 4th-6th January 2008. The 298 runners built a prize pool of €542,500.

1. Jude Ainsworth (Galway) €180,000

2. Michael McCool (Nottingham, UK) €100,000

3. Tommy Watson (Athlone) €60,000

4. Trevor Dineen (Cork) €35,000

5. Michael Moran (London) €25,000

6. Keith McFadden (Donegal) €18,000

7. Glen McCabe (Lurgan) €15,000

8. Bernard Brady (Galway) €12,000

Final table chip stacks:

1. Keith McFadden (Donegal) -- 698,000

2. Jude Ainsworth (Galway) -- 527,000

3. Trevor Dineen (Cork) -- 385,000

4. Tommy Watson (Athlone) -- 300,000

5. Bernard Brady (Galway) -- 300,000

6. Michael Moran (London) -- 296,000

7. Michael McCool (Enniskillen) -- 249,500

8. Glen McCabe (Lurgan) -- 150,000

Contact Warren Lush +34656236600
Online Casino provides online gamblers with information on online casino gambling, sports betting tips, wining casino tips, internet casino reviews, sports odds, matchups, results, editorial and much, much more… We also have an industry insider’s section including Internet gaming press releases, a calendar of events and gaming industry news.
Bluff Europe: Europe's leading Poker Magazine brings you the latest Poker News, Player Interviews and all the best Online Poker offers Poker in the Park: Europe's largest Poker Festival.